Getting a learner’s permit is a much-anticipated event for a teen driver—something that all teens look forward to with glee. But with inexperience comes the increased risk of being involved in a car accident. If you’re involved in a car accident while driving with a permit in Massachusetts, our car accident attorney in Massachusetts can help. To learn more, call our law firm today.
Learner’s Permit Restrictions in MA
Driving with a learner’s permit is a privilege that is limited by certain rules and regulations. Some of the learner’s permit restrictions to be aware of include:
- Those with a learner’s permit must always be accompanied by a licensed driver
- The accompanying licensed driver must be at least 21 years old and have at least one year’s worth of driving experience
- Permitted drivers who are under 18 years of age are not allowed to drive between the hours of 12 AM and 5 AM unless they are accompanied by a parent or legal guardian
Note that the above requirements are for a learner’s permit; after a driver has held a learner’s permit for six months, they can obtain a junior operator license. The rules for those operating under a junior operator license are similar to those for those operating under a learner’s permit.
What Happens After a Crash?
After being involved in a crash, it’s important that you exchange information with the other driver, file an accident report with the police, and seek medical care for your injuries as soon as possible. You should also contact your liability insurance company to report the accident within 24-48 hours of the crash.
The penalties that you may face for the crash will depend on many factors, including if you were at fault. If the other driver was at fault, then your insurance should not be impacted, and you may even be able to recover compensation from the other driver if you’ve been injured, suffered vehicle damage, or both. If you were at fault, you could be ticketed and your insurance rates will likely increase.
If you were driving alone (without a parent/licensed driver), then you may face additional penalties in addition to whatever penalties are associated with the crash. You can have a fine levied against you and may have your permit suspended for up to one year.
If you were using a cellphone at the time of crash, this can also lead to additional penalties. Finally, getting in an accident—even if you weren’t at fault for it—can delay licensing.
Call Our Massachusetts Car Accident Attorney Directly
If you’ve been in a car accident as a driver with a learner’s permit in Massachusetts, you can reach out to our Massachusetts car accident attorney directly with all of your questions about your right to compensation, how a car accident may impact your permit and your ability to get a driver’s license, and more. We are here to help you. Call today at (617)742-1700 or send us a message online at your convenience.